Freely Rain Lilias Skipper

Freely Rain Lilias Skipper

Sept. 7th, 2012 @ 12:04 am

8 lbs. 2 oz, 21 in.

“Freely you have received; freely give.”  Matt. 10:8

Freely Rain came into our lives during a lightning storm that turned into a rainy next day after being in her Mommy’s tummy through a summer drought–I believe her entry is a very prophetic one for the Skipper family. 

Her name

Freely:  BJ & I are forever grateful to God for setting us free from our sin and the way we lived our lives in the past so the concept of “freedom” has been one we love.  When searching for a unique name from the Bible, I came upon this verse and it just seemed perfect. “Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy,drive out demons. Freely you have received; freely give.”  Matt. 10:8

Rain: This part of her name is full of meaning.  Rain in terms of  God freely “reigning” in her life; God “raining” down his righteousness–“You heavens above, rain down my righteousness” Is. 45:8; and most of all the Holy Spirit and his outpouring being symbolized by rain in the Bible.

Lilias:  It took us a little bit to be 100% on this name but it just seemed right.  Lilias Trotter was a famous artist who gave up her career to become a missionary to Africa.  You can read more about her here.  Her book, Parables of the Cross, is available to read online.  Her life and convictions deeply moved us and we thought it fitting to name her after someone we greatly admire and pray we AND our children can “dare to have it out with God” as she challenges below.

“Never has it been so easy to live in half a dozen good harmless worlds at once—art, music, social science, games, motoring, the following of some profession, and so on. And between them we run the risk of drifting about, the “good” hiding the “best.”

It is easy to find out whether our lives are focused, and if so, where the focus lies. Where do our thoughts settle when consciousness comes back in the morning? Where do they swing back when the pressure is off during the day? Dare to have it out with God. . . and ask Him to show you whether or not all is focused on Christ and His glory.”  Lilias Trotter

Lilias is also a form of the name/word “Lily”–“Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. 34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”  Matt. 6:28-34

Her Story

While  hanging out at Mom & Kevin’s Thursday evening I had a couple of contractions but they weren’t any different than ones I’d been having throughout the last couple of weeks so I wasn’t sure if it would turn into the “real” thing or not.  We stopped by the dollar store around 8:00 pm, chatted with friends in the parking lot and I had a couple more contractions–all I wanted to do was go home and go to bed in case it DID progress.  We came home and I called Mom and asked her to just come out and stay the night in case it was the real deal.  Because our midwife didn’t make the last birth we knew we had to make the decision early on to call Cheryl if we wanted her to make this one–which we desperately did!!  So I called Cheryl, she told me to lie down and time them and call her back in 15 minutes.  About 10 minutes later, I called her–they were 4-5 minutes apart!!  They had not been that close together just 20 minutes ago.  So now I’m starting to panic, thinking she’s not going to make it again.

I was more nervous entering into this birth than ever before–Cheryl called me back and we talked and I think she was so right–I was processing Willow’s birth and all that happened with that.  God was soooo good to us with Willow, to graciously allow her to be delivered by her Daddy and even with some minor complications be absolutely perfect–but I think I was afraid that something was going to go wrong this time.  We called Kristie McKee (my aunt AND friend) and she came out along with Mom.  Once they were here and I knew Cheryl was on her way, my contractions slowed down to 8-10 mins. apart and I was able to relax.

(this pic was about 11:00 pm)

Cheryl & her midwife-in-training, Lily, got here and they just let me labor–my friend, Chrissy, came as well and Ali was on her way.  BJ put the kids to bed (Shiloh cried so much because she wants to be a midwife and she wanted to see the “whole thing not just the end”–sweet girl!)  and he & I stayed in the bedroom.  The contractions were about every 4-5 minutes apart and I was having back labor so he was rubbing my back the whole time.  The contractions were painful but not overwhelming or something I couldn’t handle or talk in between.  Around 11:40 or so I just immediately felt like I had to push–it was the weirdest thing.  The contractions never got one on top of one another like I was expecting or completely out of my pain tolerance.  I said I wanted to get into the pool and so I did.  I asked Cheryl, “Can it be like that?  Just be having pretty decent contractions and then feel like you have to push??”  She said, “Yes, Aubin, it’s just a really good birth.”  I still couldn’t get my head around it.

I labored a little in the tub, feeling like I needed to push.  Classic labor line–when the baby’s head was crowning BJ said something like, “it’s crowning” and I was like, “I want the WHOLE baby out”–lol!  Apparently I could’ve cared less about the crowning.  gotta love those real, crabby moments I have when it’s almost done 🙂  I pushed through a few contractions and sweet Freely came into the world!  I brought her up out of the water–she had the cord around her neck, but not tightly.  Cheryl unwrapped it, Freely let out a cry and then so did I 🙂  I was nervous because of the cord and was wanting her to cry more–Cheryl asked if I wanted her to make Freely mad so she would cry and like the loving Mom I am, I said “YES!”  I feel kind of bad now but I just wanted to know she was okay.   Judah & Shiloh had wanted to be in there when I had the baby so they had come in but when I was pushing it bothered them so they waited in the hallway.  Everyone came in right after she was born–Ali got there a few minutes later, saying “Did I miss it again??” (she missed Willow’s birth by minutes as well.)  Here are her/our first few moments:

    

The Skipper Tribe

Once again, we are so grateful to the Lord for His goodness.  Thank you to everyone who prayed for and encouraged us.

10 thoughts on “Freely Rain Lilias Skipper

  1. Like the story, like the post, like the pictures–Love Freely and YOU, each one. Miss you so much! Thanks for sharing your story:)

  2. Love the meaning behind her names – another precious grandbaby – yay! You have such a way of putting your thoughts and experiences into words – loved reading about her birth even though I was there. I love you all!
    Mom

  3. Your family has if all figured out. Such a beautiful story and a reflection of God’s care for each small detail of our life. Warmest congratulations. Beverly

  4. Aubin, I remember the first time I met you (doing the insurance stuff). You and your family have been on my mind quite alot, especially since I get to see posts on FaceBook. Your family has touched my heart, even though we do not get to visit. Congratulations on the birth of Freely. What a miracle a baby is. May God continue to bless you and your family.

  5. Congratulations on a beautiful baby. The name fits her perfectly. What an amazing story of her birth, you are an in
    spiration to us all with your faith and strength. God Bless your precious, beautiful family.

Leave a Reply

