Shiloh

I wanted to tell everyone about Shiloh’s decision to follow Jesus yesterday.  For many months now she has been talking about having Jesus in her heart.  BJ & I had not taken advantage of this by talking about it more or less but we made a note in our conversation that she was beginning to ask questions, become aware of what that meant, etc.  For the past couple of months the kids have prayed for “all the people who don’t have Jesus in their hearts”.  We’ve been asking them to get more specific recently, praying for people by name.  Even Shiloh was praying for people! And starting in January we began praying through Operation World with the kids. Shiloh has even said during school sometimes, “You know I do have Jesus in my heart.”  I wasn’t sure what to do with that information but talked with BJ about it and we just decided to wait for her to come to us.  We have never wanted our kids to feel pressured or prompted by US into following Jesus.  Zoe & Judah have prayed consistently for Shiloh & Olive to accept Christ, now adding Willow to that mix 🙂

Yesterday at church I saw her teacher start to take her downstairs.  I didn’t know why she was but I felt SO strongly the prompting of God to go and get her.  I wasn’t sure why but I just knew I needed to go talk to her.  Obviously, God knew why. Shi said she wanted to come with me into church and so I let her.  It was during our communion meditation time and she was sitting on my lap.  She asked why we had communion and I shared that with her.  Then she started to tear up and cry and said “I hope someday I can have Jesus in my heart”.  I said, “Shiloh, you can.”  Then she asked me what she had to do.  I explained to her that it’s about believing Jesus is the Son of God and how we need Him.  I led her in a sweet childlike prayer.  Afterward I said to her, “tell Mommy what else you know about Jesus.”  She said, “That He died on the cross for me.”  Sweet girl!  She ran over to tell BJ who immediately was in tears.  It was a very sweet moment.

I’m not sure if you’re struggling with wondering whether her salvation experience is “real” or not.  I know for us, we believe in the sincerity of it.  However we are well aware she will have to “work out her salvation” as she grows.  We do not in anyway consider this a  “done deal”, ticket to heaven.  But we DO believe God has been beckoning to her little heart for many months now and who are we to “hinder the little children”?? We even spoke to two different people in our church (one an elder and the other a bible study leader) who both affirmed their belief that it’s us as adults who make salvation hard.  We’re asked to “believe” not “understand”.  Annette said to me last night, “Aubin, why wouldn’t she want to know have a relationship with Jesus?  She’s grown up in a home where Jesus has been talked about since birth and modeled before her?”  That was HUGE for me~oh I pray we have modeled that.  So many times we’ve failed.  But I know Zoe & Judah were both very young and we have seen fruits in their life that their decision was real.

I also received an email this morning from our great friend & mentor Dave Cole who said, “I have every confidence that this sweet little girl has embraced Salvation!  Continue keeping the Lord before your family, God will greatly bless you all!
From the Shema/Great Commandment (see below), I am always reminded we cannot talk enough about the Lord with our Children! Keep up the great work! I look forward to a similar e-mail (at least) two more times!

Deut. 6:4-9 4 Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. 5 Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. 6 These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. 7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 8 Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 9 Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates.

so thanks for rejoicing with us!  Please pray for her and that we can lead her in the right way.

7 thoughts on “Shiloh

  1. oh aubin. this is so awesome and so sweet. something very similar happened in my life. i prayed that prayer at 4 and really believe i made a transformation. granted, i didn’t have drugs and other things to put before the cross at such a young age. but i believed it with all i could at that age and knew what i was doing. since then…God shows me more of who He is each year and my love and experience grows. i’m not saying she’s not gunna learn more and grow deeper….but i say it was real. i mean…sure sounds it. what an amazing experience for a parent. beautiful! she sounds like such a beautiful soul. xoxo

  2. I am sooo rejoicing for Shiloh right now, and am so blessed that you shared this on your blog for the world to see. Such an awesome testimony!
    xoxo, jlee

  3. Aubin,

    This is so touching and it melted me spiritually and emotionally…what a wonderful moment for not only your family, but for the Lord to have such a sweet servant in the making!

  4. WOW, that is so touching! Just you saying she had tears in her eyes & wanted Jesus in her ❤ reveals that she knew what was going on! She is just so precious! And YES you & BJ are such great examples of what Christians are to be!

  5. I was thrilled when she told me yesterday at church she had asked Jesus into her heart. I know I’ve told you this before, but what a blessing to me as a grandparent to know my grandchildren’s parents are raising them to know the Lord. There is nothing you could do for them that is more important. Shiloh looks so much like you did when you were her age that I feel like I’m watching you grow up all over again! I’m so happy she’s made this decision, my little Shiloh DEBORAH Ruth Skipper!

  6. PRAISE GOD!! I most certainly believe that young ones can make a proclamation of faith. If it makes you feel any better, all of my kids sought the Lord early and thank you Jesus, they have not strayed!! I am believing the same for your family. Of course, why would they stray, as someone else has mentioned, you are living this out day to day in a practical way before them. No parent is perfect, but they can be ministered to in our mistakes when we fess up to them and show them how to walk through them in victory!! Just so thankful for you guys!!

Leave a Reply

