Shi’s Fairy Party

Shiloh turned 4!  I can’t believe she is four years old but that’s a whole other blog post.  She wanted to have a fairy party so since she has never had a “big” party we decided to go for it.  Zoe & Judah won’t be having parties this year because it is HER year.  For me to do a party the way I like, I just can’t have everyone having parties in the same year.  Especially if this baby is born in October; then we’ll have  August (Zoe), September (Shi), October (new baby) and November (Judah) birthdays!  Poor Ollie, she’s the lone girl in March because I’m in October and BJ’s in November.

Onto the party details…a few people have asked me if I came up with the ideas on my own–well of course, I mean isn’t that what being creative is??  NOT!  I am an official idea THIEF!  Seriously, I know there are great artists out there but I’m pretty sure the only original creator is God himself.  We all get to pick & choose and make things our own, you know?  Personal opinion 🙂  Anyway, so below I’ve labeled the pictures and am giving links to where I found the ideas.

Before I go over all of the ideas, I just want to say that if you want to throw an amazing party for your child without spending much $$, it IS possible.  God gave me so many great ideas and opportunities to use what we already have and you could never tell it, you know?  For example, the backdrop and table cloth are actually the girls sheets!  Things like that amaze me about God.  He loves Shi more than we do and He wanted her to have an incredible and special party–and she did!  I just got to put it together.

1)  Pink Lemonade Cupcakes sat inside homemade cupcake holders.  The cupcake holders are soooo easy to make and inexpensive.  I found patterns here and here and ended up using the one from Skip to My Lou.   I used scrapbook paper I had already.  As for the pink lemonade cupcakes, it could be that I burnt them a little, but I don’t think many people loved them.  They looked pretty though 🙂

The flag banner is also made from scrapbook paper, sewn on vintage ric rac I had and tied onto bamboo skewers.  There are a lot of places you can find these but this is the one I kept coming back to.  FYI, I didn’t use the tutorial she has; it looked way too complicated for what I was looking for.

2) & 3) Cupcake “decorating station”.  I found the buckets in the $1 bin at Target.  Each girl got a bracelet, ring, wand (picture #8) and a cupcake to decorate.   My awesome husband put sugar and food coloring in the food processor and SURPRISE!  Cheap, homemade colored sugar, other wise known as “pixie dust”.  I found that idea here.

4) Beautiful fairies in a row!  I asked each girl to dress up and bring fairy wings if they had them; if not, we provided them.  I think they look sooo adorable.

5) Marshmallow wands and pretzel wands.  The pink “rose” looking wands were born out of leftover marshmallows & frosting and a lack of desire to sprinkle anymore!  The sprinkled marshmallow wands were supposed to be dipped in chocolate, the pretzel wands as well, but I resorted to frosting due to not having a double boiler and messing up the chocolate.  The sprinkles stuck better to the chocolate, though, so that would’ve been better.

6) Fairy bread–a total waste of bread, butter and sprinkles in my opinion.  I foolishly thought kids would love these but I don’t know if even one kid ate the bread!  Maybe if it were for breakfast but with all the other options, nope, not happening.  You can google “fairy bread” to find a bunch of sites.

7) Face painting:  I found the picture on a carnival party here. I asked my friend Carmen, who owns a mural business, if she would paint their faces and she did such an awesome job!

8 ) The magic wands–honestly, I think they turned out the very best of everything we did.  We used the tutorial I found here but we modified it a little.  We cut the stars out of foam board and the kids painted & glittered them.  BJ painted dowel rods with paint we had from the girls’ room and he cut them to about 16″.  Then he sharpened the end of each one in the pencil sharpener and pushed it into the star.  We were going to hot glue but this worked sooo much better.  I think only one star came off during the party which is way less than I had expected.  Finally, I tied ribbons on the tops of them.  I think they were so cute!  Of course, you can’t go wrong with displaying anything in a blue mason jar 🙂

9) Pin the wand on the fairy–I googled “fairy party ideas” and found it somewhere.

All the sweet girls showing their wings 🙂

Here are the websites I used to to just gather the whole “look & feel” of the party

Mostly, I am obsessed with google and researching!  Try it sometime 🙂  Happy party planning!!!

9 thoughts on “Shi’s Fairy Party

  1. Beautiful Aubin!! The photos could be in an issue of MS kids. And the party was so much fun – thank you for working hard to make the scheduling all work.

  2. Aubin I felt like you took me back to a fantasy fairyland while I was reading and looking at the absolutely adorable pictures. I would rate this party as a HUGE success!! And, of course, the fairies were just as precious as they could be. Thank you so much for sharing with all of us.

  3. LOVED your fairy party photos! Bree was viewing them with me and exclaimed “I want to go to that party!” Birthday parties are my favorite thing to plan and yours came together beautifully. Thanks for sharing! I like the idea of limiting the birthday parties to one child per year….Chad’s 4oth was in August 13, I am the 21st, Bree is on the 25th and Brooke is Sept 1! YIKES! Kate is the loner in April! And I attempted parties for all! I was “birthdayed out!” Might just have to “borrow” that idea from you! Easier on the budget for sure! Enjoyed seeing you at the library this summer…..Hope to see you again soon!

  4. Wow, this sounded like so much fun! You can see by the smiles on their faces that a great time was had by all! Thank you for sharing this will us and all the details of how you did things so well and inexpensively! GREAT JOB!

  5. The party was sooo much fun! You did a great job and like you said, it wasn’t expensive, but God just brought alot of things together – I love it!

  6. Hi,

    I would like to crop and use the image of your Fairy girls facing backwards on my website. It is a gorgeous shot and the girls are non recognisable.

    Please let me know if this is ok.

    Regards
    Leeanne Nanasi
    Fantasy Kids Parties

  7. I am so inspired after reading about this party – I was just asking God to give me some awesome ideas that won’t cost too much – thank you so much for sharing your creativity with us! My daughter will be 4 next month and has been asking for a fairy party all year!!

    Be blessed!!
    Anja
    xxxx

  8. I simply loved the theme and your energy level to arrange this party, its very motivating indeed, I will never be able to have such party for my daughter who is 4, her birthday falls in winter, but really happy to see outdoor parties.

Leave a Reply

