a hero?

Today I read on Fox News Miep Gies died at the age of 100.  Her name wasn’t a familiar one to me yet the story she played a part in is one we all know.  Miep Gies was the office secretary who defied Nazi occupiers to hide Anne Frank and her family for two years and saved the teenager’s diary (fox news).

And here’s the quote shook me this morning:

“I don’t want to be considered a hero,” she said in a 1997 online chat with schoolchildren.

“Imagine young people would grow up with the feeling that you have to be a hero to do your human duty. I am afraid nobody would ever help other people, because who is a hero? I was not. I was just an ordinary housewife and secretary.”

How often do I do things around my home, or ministry wise for that matter, and deep down I want recognition for it?  Probably more than I care to admit.  And yet this woman and husband risked their lives for that of another because it is what you do.  The understatement of the year is how deeply humbled and convicted I am this morning.

2 thoughts on “a hero?

  1. Having been to several Holocaust Museums, a holy, righteous indignation seethes in my soul for the heinous crimes cowardly committed against millions of defenseless innocent people, particularly women and children.

    Praise God there were brave people like Meip who were willing to put their own life on the line very simply to do the right thing. Thousands of these people were captured, tortured and murdered in cold blood as well. The fact that she preserved the diary and has given it to the world is truly a most extraordinary gift. We are all fortunate we can know the story of Anne Frank because of her.

    The Talmud says “whoever saves a single soul… it is a though he had saved the whole world.” Miep Gies truly was a hero, a great hero.

Leave a Reply

