slumdog

So I haven’t got to see this movie yet and I was really looking forward to it even BEFORE last night’s Oscar win.  200px-slumdog_millionaire_poster

I can’t believe it’s been this long ago, but a little over 10 years ago I had the opportunity to go to India in a mission trip.  It was the most unbelievable & life changing trip of my life.  We were in Bombay (now called Mumbai) for a month and a half  and spent time in the slums, working with the street kids and a pastor who has a church in the slums of Bombay.  We even got to visit a part of Bollywood.  But by far the most amazing thing was working with the street kids of Bombay.  I developed a friendship with a little boy Raja who I still think about and wonder whatever happened to (here he is).

n527966638_768416_79281

A friend of mine who was on the same trip had just emailed me recently saying I really needed to see this movie, that it would bring back a lot of memories.  So anyway, even though I’ve not watched it, I love the rags to riches theme–I love that they took kids directly from the Mumbai streets to play the role.  I love it.  Here are a few pictures from my time in India.  If you EVER get the chance to go to India, do it.  The sites and scents will never leave your memory–and that can be good and bad at times.  I’m reminded of Amy Carmichael’s mission to rescue the Indian children.  There is a ton of information about her work in India.  I love the response she gave to this question:

While serving in India, Amy received a letter from a young lady who was considering life as a missionary. She asked Amy, “What is missionary life like?” Amy wrote back saying simply,

“Missionary life is simply a chance to die.”

“Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it”  Matt. 10:39

n527966638_768429_2334

n527966638_768411_6309

n527966638_768430_2683

2 thoughts on “slumdog

  1. I still have that picture of you and Raja on my frig and still pray for him and other kids like him. It’s hard for me to think he isn’t a little boy any more. I remember you telling me how he put that money in the offering when he didn’t have anything – what a sacrifice and so precious.

  2. wow. those photos are taking me back in time. 🙂 what memories!! can you believe it that all us roomies are now married!???!!! time is so weird. i can’t believe how fast it goes on…..

Leave a Reply

