My Dad

Lamentations 3:22-23 (English Standard Version)

22 The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
23they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

Lamentations 3:22-23 (The Message)

22-24God’s loyal love couldn’t have run out,
his merciful love couldn’t have dried up.
They’re created new every morning.
How great your faithfulness!
I’m sticking with God (I say it over and over).
He’s all I’ve got left.

Lamentations 3:22-23 (Amplified Bible)

22It is because of the Lord’s mercy and loving-kindness that we are not consumed, because His [tender] compassions fail not.  23They are new every morning; great and abundant is Your stability and faithfulness.

Lamentations 3:22-23 (Contemporary English Version)

22The LORD’s kindness never fails!  If he had not been merciful, we would have been destroyed.  23The LORD can always be trusted to show mercy each morning.

I posted the following update on my Dad to my facebook account last night but thought since some people only read the blog I should post it here, too.  As of 8:20 this morning, I have heard no news through the night, which I am taking as a positive thing.    Thank you to everyone who is praying and asking about him.

n527966638_519050_5211-1

My Dad was in a head on collision a little after midnight last night, Feb. 6. He was life flighted to the hospital. These are the injuries listed upon his arrival: torn aortic artery, laceration in liver, internal bleeding from spleen, crushed pelvis, shattered hip that will need hip replacement, possible broken leg and shoulder, two major cuts on his face.

He made it through the first surgery, which was to repair the torn aortic artery. However, now his lungs are a major concern, because he is a smoker and they went under so much trauma during the accident, so he is on 100% oxygen and under sedation. There is a risk of paralysis in his legs due to tear surgery that we won’t know about until they bring him out of sedation .

They are cautiously telling us that while yes, it is a big deal he made it through the surgery, he is still in very very critical condition and one of those things above could be life-threatening to him because of the state of trauma his body is in.

The police reports states the driver of the other vehicle crossed the center line and struck Dad, which is what the marks on the highway show. Unfortunately, the man who hit dad was killed. We have been in a state of agony from not knowing who was at fault (and being told by one state trooper it was Dad’s fault) to now hearing it is not Dad’s fault. The range of emotions have been unbelievable.

We are obviously in desperate need of prayer from everyone for our dad, Paul. Not just for our his life to be saved but for his mental state.

Thank you so much to everyone who is asking about Dad–it means so much.

11 thoughts on “My Dad

  1. Aubin –
    I just heard about your Dad’s accident this morning. You are all in our thoughts and prayers. Be careful as you and your family are driving back and forth to the city to see Paul.
    Love, Laura

  2. Dear Aubin, BJ and Family,

    Gretchen alerted me to the need for prayer for your Dad. I am so sorry to learn of his tragic accident. I am praying for God’s will to be done in his life, and that all of you will be comforted and strengthened through the days and weeks ahead.

    Blessings,
    Margaret

  3. Dearest Aubin and family,

    Our family is praying for all of you as you face this trial. Karen keeps asking me every day what I have heard and I update her with what little I know.

    I didn’t have the chance to know your Dad very well but what times he was at our place visiting or doing something for me I always enjoyed visiting with him and we had the thing of waving as the girls and I went to town, so it is like he has been a bit of the fabric of my life. Little touches of bright color running through the pattern. He always made us smile with his scary beard on his bike, enjoying the wind.

    Our prayers for his salvation, our prayers for his recovery, and our prayers for your strenght.

    Charline Klopfenstein and Karen Reynolds & family

  4. Pingback: update #2 «
  5. Dear Aubin,

    You & I do not know each other, as it has been quite a few years since I lived in Pleasanton, but I knew your Father from our high school days (he was a year younger than me), and after he, Danny Snow, and I made it back from Vietnam. We were in separate branches of the military, and were sent to different parts of that country, but as might be expected, I felt a certain kinship nonetheless, as do many veterans of that conflict.

    I survived an on the job accident on July 1, 2005 that resulted in traumatic brain injury. I was not expected to survive, but did, with a few lingering effects. For those interested, the “About” page on my taxidermy website tells more about all that.

    My thoughts and prayers are with Paul. One thing I have not seen in this blog is what hospital he is in(?) I would like to know so that I can go see him after he has recovered sufficiently to receive visitors.

    God Bless You All,

    Frank

  6. Wow, Aubin, I am just catching up on blogs and read this in shock. I am so sorry this has happened and will definitely be prayigng for your family and your fathers comfort and healing during this time. what a horrible tragedy. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Hey Aubin, I was hoping you might post an update on your dad. I know you are probably extremely busy! I hope he is healing and that you are all holding up well. I will continue to pray for him. Love Heather

Leave a Reply

