baby oh baby

We are soooo thrilled to let everyone know that baby #4 is on his/her way!! We are beyond excited. We had wanted to get pregnant close to after Shiloh was born but the Lord had us to wait a little bit longer, which is totally cool with us (those are her little feet in the picture, btw). It was so fun watching that pregnancy test say “positive” (although it was NOT a plus sign, which is a whole other story I’ll share). I don’t think it matters how many kids we have, there is just something about that moment that is so amazing. My heart breaks when I think about the women who never get to see that–and I have such a sensitivity to that because I know we have been very blessed–not because of anything we deserve–just extremely blessed.

We told the kids and it was pretty funny–they couldn’t guess it so I whispered in Shi’s ear “baby” and then she whispered “baby”. Then Zoe said, “YOU’RE PREGNANT?!?” Seriously, like a 30 year old, she kills me! Then Judah just said as calmly as can be, “I think it’s a boy baby.” He went onto say he was going to chase the baby around the room and hug it and love on it “super much”, which is Judah talk for big time lovins. Shi is already raising her shirt, pointing to her belly & saying “baby”.

As far as letting everyone know, I cannot put into words how blessed BJ & I are to have such LOVING & SUPPORTIVE family & friends. Not one person showed anything less than excitement. For those of you with big families or the desire to have one, you know there is usually that certain look or comment of “what the heck are you doing?”–but we didn’t receive any of that. Our family–both sides–know deeply what Psalm 127: 3-5 tells us:

3 Behold, children are a gift of the LORD,
The fruit of the womb is a reward.
4 Like arrows in the hand of a warrior,
So are the children of one’s youth.
5 How blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them;
They will not be ashamed
When they speak with their enemies in the gate.

To answer the big question of “will you be done now?” the answer is–we don’t know. I doubt it very seriously. Please hear me out–we are not being prideful. When I think about the possibility of having nine kids, it freaks me out a little. And I’m not saying we will have nine. But I can’t promise we won’t either. We feel like God is telling us to trust Him with the number–so we are. I don’t think He calls everyone to this. I don’t doubt that He might tell us one day “Okay, you’re done.” But He just hasn’t yet.

All that being said, we welcome with open arms Skipper baby number four sometime in March!!

(us with Shi Shi, Sept. 29, 2006)

13 thoughts on “baby oh baby

  1. Yay! I’m so happy for you guys! You and BJ are awesome parents. I can totally see you two with a BIG family. You’ll do great! We are praying for you all!

  2. Hey, hey,

    It is great that you desire many children. I come from a family of 12!!!!!!!!! So when I hear of others having a large family I can relate & think it is so exciting. It’s just such a blessing!!

    Marilyn Michels

  3. so i got on here earlier and in my rushed attempt to catch up on life while i was gone i totally forgot to comment, shame on me! WE ARE SOOO EXCITED!!!!!!! cant wait to hold another little skipper love in my arms. sad that we arent close and i dont get to be there when he or she makes the arrival, but maybe someday, we both still have more to come. love you guys sooo much.

  4. sorry, me again, i just noticed bj’s tears, and it reminded me of your wedding when we both lost it! and you look much too good for just having a baby, and i should know i had just had one 6 days earlier!

  5. well…….you know how EXCITED we are!! even though a certain pregnant someone didn’t show her TRUE feelings:)!!
    i can not wait to meet this new baby! it would be kinda neat (selfishly) if it was a girl because henry needs a good wife and all the rest of your kids are already accounted for:). we’ve gotta be related some way or the other. hope you are stilll feeling good. WE LOVE YOU!!!

  6. YEAH guys, that is AWESOME! What a true blessing from the Lord. I hear you on having friends that are not able to have children. It kills me how easy it has been for us and my close friend has had IVF five times and lost 15 babies. She is currently inseminated with 4 more wonderful babies and next week we will hopefully find out if she is pregnant or not. So praying for a miracle for her, but rejoicing in God’s provision for you guys!

  7. Oh yeah!!!!!! CONGRATS!!!!!!!!! 🙂 Here’s wishing you a happy and healthy nine months!!!! 🙂 I am very excited for you!!!!

  8. I am very excited for you guys! I am finding myself overwhelmed with the thought of one child, so I can’t imagine four. But I know that you are an awesome mom and will do great-you go girl!

  9. I was just catching up on your blog and when I saw something in a recent post about being pregnant I quickly scrolled down to find the post where you made the announcement…I knew there would be one.
    congrats!!
    You KNOW I’m super excited and love big families and people who want them!

  10. Wow! Teecy just filled me in on what’s been going on with you guys, then took me down to read your blog. I am so happy for ALL of you- your children sound precious, as you have obviously raised them to see babies as coming from the hand of God into our lives. They are always a blessing, yes, even number4, 5, 6……you keep it up! You and BJ are remarkable, and have been and will continue to be blessed because of your unselfish lives of giving yourselves to the raising of godly children to carry on His kingdom here on earth.
    I also saw your facebook album with the pictures of your children- how amazing it was to see three beautiful children I have never even met and realize the incredible life you have been living since we last saw each other. Keep in touch as you consider home birth and homeschooling, as I have done both. If you will e-mail me your phone number, I would love to talk to you. (peggychristmas6@yahoo.com)
    You have a sweet family–I am so happy for you.

Leave a Reply

