prince caspian…

It could be we’ve built it up in our heads over the past year, anticipating it’s release. Could be it’s just not possible to translate C.S. Lewis’ brilliance onto the big screen. I don’t know, it might be that they didn’t follow the book’s storyline AT ALL–or it just could be that the book is ALWAYS SO MUCH BETTER.

BJ & I have been reading “Prince Caspian” to the kids and it’s actually the first time I’ve ever read it. BJ’s read it seriously probably 20 times. I could go on and on about how much I loved it and the biblical parallels but I’ll be posting those quotes later. The book is so pure, not a hint of guy/girl relationships if you know what I mean. As our kids get older, we’ve realized how RARE it is to find anything that doesn’t attempt to awaken those emotions (wayyy too young, in my opinion). I mean try and think of one movie that is just about sibling love or family relationships? And if you know it, please tell me because I’m starting a list of them. It’s very, very rare. All this to say, the movie takes it there. No, not in a big way–but it didn’t have to go there it all. It’s like BJ & I said, it’s almost like they didn’t trust the book was amazing on it’s own. Had to add tons of Hollywood drama to keep us entertained.

Maybe you’ll disagree–I hope so. I don’t want anyone else to be as let down as I am! If you haven’t read the book, I’m sure the movie will be awesome. And if you have, well don’t expect it to be the Prince Caspian you’ve come to love–it’s not even close.

But in all fairness, it is a good movie–there’s some violence. But it is very, very clean. That alone makes it stand out for something in the movie world.

(bet you didn’t know this blog was actually a movie review page?? not normally but I just had to comment about this one)

On a side note, Zoë on the way home said to me, “I sure wish Aslan and Lucy & Susan & Peter & Edmund were real.” Oh sweetie–they are! I cannot wait for her to read the books one day and her eyes be filled with wonder as she realizes who our Aslan really is. So much greater than any movie could ever attempt to depict.

4 thoughts on “prince caspian…

  1. Okay, Annette, again! 🙂

    We saw Prince Caspian last night too! And my first thought about the violence was, “Wow. A bit much.” Then, I thought about this is really very representative of the battles that go on the spiritual realm that we don’t see. I remember doing the Daniel study by Beth Moore, and one thing she mentioned was that if we think we have drama going on in our lives that really it pales in comparison to the drama and battling that goes on that we CAN’T see! 🙂

  2. I totally agree with you. One thing I love about Narnia “violence” is that it isn’t bloody yet it still gets the point across. I think my biggest letdown was that I felt like there were so many more spiritual angles they could’ve taken and they didn’t. Wasn’t that Daniel study amazing?! My favorite one by far.

  3. Here, Here! Can’t remember how I stumbled upon your blog, but I was just reading your post here and shaking my head furiously in agreement!

    I feel the exact same way as you. Wasn’t a horrible movie, but not following the story line and the addition of the “relationship” stuff was so disappointing!

    I was just about to blog about this and I hope it’s ok to link to you in my post 🙂

Leave a Reply

